Maine’s Office of the Revisor of Statues explains that you’ll pay $5 per year in excise tax if you own a motor vehicle. The excise tax you pay goes to the construction and repair of roadways in the state. Maine calculates this tax by taking the current MSRP of your vehicle and multiplying it by the mileage rate.
How much will my excise tax be in Maine?
Excise tax is calculated by multiplying the MSRP by the mill rate as shown below. The rates drop back on January 1st of each year. For example, the owner of a three year old motor vehicle with an MSRP of $19,500 would pay $263.25.
How much will it cost me to register my car in Maine?
For example, if you drive a passenger vehicle, the base registration fee is $35. If you have a special plate or a vanity plate, additional fees ranging from $15 to $25 may apply.
How much is Maine sales tax on cars?
Pay 5.5% Maine sales tax on the purchase price of the vehicle.
Is there property tax on vehicles in Maine?
Personal Property Taxation of Motor Vehicles. A motor vehicle brought into Maine is subject to personal property tax unless the vehicle owner pays excise tax on it in Maine.
Can I pay excise tax online Maine?
Maine’s Online Vehicle Registration Renewal Service Now Available on Mobile Devices. … Through Rapid Renewal, citizens are able to renew their vehicle registrations and pay their municipal excise taxes in one quick and simple online transaction, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Can you deduct vehicle excise tax in Maine?
Can I deduct any of these? Yes, you can claim a portion of the expenses. Maine is one of the states where you claim personal property tax in lieu of vehicle registration fees. So, you will claim the Excise Taxes you paid to your city or county based on your vehicle’s value.
Is there a grace period for car registration in Maine?
You may renew your vehicle up to 60 days before your registration expires. My registration has expired. How long after the expiration can I use the rapid renewal? You may use rapid renewal up to 7 months after the expiration date of your registration.
How much is a vehicle registration fee?
Registration fee chart for passenger vehicles
|2,751 – 2,850 lbs.||$45.50|
|2,851 – 2,950 lbs.||$47.00|
|2,951 – 3,050 lbs.||$48.50|
|3,051 – 3,150 lbs.||$50.00|
How do you calculate Maine sales tax?
The state general sales tax rate of Maine is 5.5%. Maine cities and/or municipalities don’t have a city sales tax. Every 2021 combined rates mentioned above are the results of Maine state rate (5.5%). There is no county sale tax for Maine.
Can you return a car in Maine?
While products sold to you at home (door to door) may be returned within 3 days if you change your mind, Maine law does not allow a “cooling off” period for sales taking place outside of the home, such as used cars purchased from a dealer. I put a deposit on a used car but did not take delivery.